Exit Site Now!



Law & Public Policy

Annual Legislative Agenda: Domestic Violence Legislation

State House (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland, April 2007. Photo by Diane F. Evartt. Maryland State Archives

The 2014 Legislative Agenda has been updated as of 4/23/14.

PLEASE NOTE: This list contains select pieces of legislation and does not include all of the MNADV’s positions on all bills before the Maryland General Assembly.

2014 Final Report

To download the Final Report from 2013 as a PDF, go here: MNADV 2013 Legislative Agenda.

Bills supported by MNADV

Priority Legislation

  • SB 333 [SB 28]/HB 307 [HB 333] – Peace Orders and Protective Orders – Burden of Proof

  • SB 334/HB 309 – Family Law – Domestic Violence – Permanent Final Protective Orders

  • SB 41/HB 775 – Domestic Violence – Persons Eligible for Relief

  • SB 434/HB 647 – Peace Orders and Protective Orders – Extensions

Other Bills of Interest

  • Supporting: SB 683/HB 185 – Crimes – Committing a Crime of Violence in the Presence of a Minor – Penalties

  • Supporting: SB 337/HB 306 – Criminal Law – Crimes Committed in the Presence of a Minor – Penalties

  • Other Supporting: SB___ /HB 17 – Criminal Law – Misuse of Inactive Computer Service

  • Other Supporting: SB 272/HB 31- Sentencing Procedures – Statement by Victim or Victim’s Representative (Alex’s Law)

  • Other Supporting: SB___ /HB 90 – Regulated Firearms – Disqualifying Crime – Domestically Related Crime

  • Other Supporting: SB 78/HB 696 – Criminal Law – Human Trafficking – Victims Under Age 21

  • Other Supporting: SB 369/HB 352 – Peace Orders and Protective Orders – Penalties – Second or Subsequent Offense

  • Other Supporting: SB 260/HB___ Criminal Procedure – Issuance of Summonses and Arrest Warrants and Restrictions on Pretrial Release

  • Other Supporting: SB 270/HB ___ – Law Enforcement Personnel Training – Human Trafficking Offenses

  • Other Supporting: SB 369/HB 352 – Peace Orders and Protective Orders – Penalties – Second of Subsequent Offense

  • Other Supporting: SB 790/HB ___ – Health Insurance- Communications Between Carriers and Enrollees – Conformity with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)

  • Other Supporting: SB 818/HB 559 – State Government – Human Trafficking Address Confidentiality Program

  • Other Supporting: SB 819/HB 608 – Police Training – Human Trafficking – Sensitivity and Awareness

  • Other Supporting: SB 1005/HB 803 – Court and Judicial Proceedings – Crime Victims and Witnesses Fund – Court Costs

  • Other Supporting: SB ___/HB 897 – Crimes – Malicious Destruction of Property – Repeat Offenders

  • Other Supporting: SB ___/HB 967 – Crimes – Malicious Destruction of Property – Defenses

  • Other Supporting: SB ___/HB1098 – Housing Discrimination – Source of Income

  • Other Supporting: SB___/HB 1182 – Family Law – Protective Orders – Additional Relief

  • Supporting in Coalition: SB 554/HB 29 – Maryland Law Enforcement Trust Act

  • Supporting in Coalition: SB 753/HB 968 – Labor and Employment – Maryland Earned Sick and Safe Leave Act

Bills Opposed by MNADV

  • SB ___/HB 44 – Family Law – Temporary and Final Protective Orders – Emergency Evaluation for Mental Disorder

  • SB ____/HB 397 – Peace and Protective Orders – Consent Orders – Shielding

  • Bills Related to Shielding or Expungement

  • Bills Reducing Firearms Restrictions

For further information about the Legislative Agenda, contact:

Maryland Network Against Domestic Violence
4601 Presidents Drive, Suite 370, Lanham, MD 20706
Tel: 301-429-3601 Fax: 301-429-3605
E-mail: info@mnadv.org Website: www.mnadv.org

For information on bills, legislators, synopses, budget, etc. go to mlis.state.md.us or call Legislative Services at 301-970-5200 or 410-946-5200.

Note: Committee votes are now available online on the Maryland General Assembly website. Look under the Documents section at the bottom of the bill information page. When a committee vote is available a link is provided to the vote record in pdf format.

Are you unsure as to who your elected officials are? Would you like to know who represents you in the Maryland General Assembly or U.S. Congress? Click here.